Maryland New Hire Registry
Federal and Maryland law requires employers to report any new employees hired to the Maryland New Hire Registry within 20 days of the beginning of employment. Employers must report if they are subject to the Maryland Unemployment Insurance law, which applies to nearly all employers in the state. The purpose of the law is to quicken the process of locating non-custodial parents in order to establish paternity, or to process child support or income withholding orders.
Employers have been required to submit this information since January 1, 1997; however, many employers are unaware of this requirement. Employers that fail to report receive a written warning for the first violation, and fines of $20 per month for each subsequent violation, or a $500 fine if the employer and employee conspired not to report. Employers must report the following information regarding newly hired employees, rehired employees, or temporary employees name, address, social security number, starting date, starting wage and insurance benefits.
For assistance with employees and your business policies or for any of your other business needs, contact an attorney.
Other Articles You May Find of Interest...
- Unlocking Inner Beauty: Embracing Self-Worth and Confidence for a Fulfilling Life
- Psychiatric Disabilities and Employment
- The Connection Between Social Media and Teen Mental Health
- Holistic Approaches To Mental Health: Bridging Gaps In Care
- How Internal Paint Colors Can Make or Break Patient Healing
- Depression Relief in San Diego: Could Ketamine Therapy Be the Answer?
- PTSD: Is It A Mental Or Physical Health Issue?